Search Site
Home >> Tribal Authorities >> >> Waikaremoana Tribal

Who are the Tribals

Welcome to Waikaremoana Tribal
Waikaremoana Tribal

The permanency of Te Mana Motuhake o Tūhoe is the business of our Tribal and is supported by the principles of ihi, ranatiratana, nākau iti, and matemateāone.

Te Taraipara o Waikaremoana is endorsed to represent the marae and hapū of Waikaremoana and the whānau that whakapapa to them. The current marae membership includes Waimako Marae, Te Kūhā Tārewa Marae, Te Pūtere Marae, and Te Whānau a Eria from Nātapa.

Our history

In 2007, Tūhoe te Mana Motuhake mai Waikaremoana, or the Waikaremoana Tribal Authority, was established to formally advance Tūhoe kaupapa. The Waikaremoana base strengthens our connections with other Tūhoe Tribals including our collective promotion of Te Urewera.

Now located in our new build Te Kura Whenua, the Tribal represents a Tūhoe presence at Lake Waikaremoana. The Tribal boundary extends south to the Waiau River to the community of Te Pūtere, west to the Huiarau ranges and north to Ruakituri.

The Waikaremoana Tribal Team

  • Lorna Taylor - Chair
  • Pare Hill - Vice Chair
  • Waikare Kruger - Tribal General Manager
  • Paygan Johns - Administrator 
  • Adrianne Ranginui - Whānau Support
  • Aroha Huata-Cracknell - Rural Community Coordinator
  • Richard Wagner - Marae Infrastructure Special Project

You can contact the Tribal from Monday to Friday, between 8.00am and 4.30pm by:

Email us:

Phone us: (06) 8373 987

Physical Address:  Te Kura Whenua, 6249 Lake Road, SH 38, Te Urewera

Postal Address: 6249 Lake Road, SH 38, RD 5, Wairoa, 4195

Facebook page: Waikaremoana Tribal

Te Matuku e-newsletter - Sign up here

Home >> Tribal Authorities >> Who are the Tribals Back to top