To Contact Us:

Phone: 07-3129580
Address: P.O.Box 43 Tāneatua 3163
Office Hours: 9.00am – 4.00pm Monday to Friday

Tūhoe Waikaremoana Māori Trust Board

Tēnā koutou katoa,
You have been transferred to Te Uru Taumatua website, which is now responsible for hosting Tūhoe Waikaremoana Māori Trust Board notices and information.
We hope you enjoy the benefit of accessing Tūhoe information in one place.


The Tūhoe Waikaremoana Māori Trust Board was established under the Maori Trust Boards Act 1955 to administer on behalf of its beneficiaries the recompense of $200,000 for unrealised commitments by the Crown. The beneficiaries of the Board are declared to be the persons to whom land was allotted under section 7 of the Urewera Lands Act 1921-22 and their successors in title, along with the list of owners of Lake Waikaremoana pursuant to subsection (3) of section 9 of the Lake Waikaremoana Act 1971. The current Board comprises of fifteen trustees duly appointed by the Governor General for a term of three years. The term of the current Board ends 2012.
The Board reports directly to the Minister of Maori Affairs. In addition the Trust Board is regulated by the Act, and is responsive to ensuring it is accountable under the NZ Audit framework managed by the Office of the Auditor General.

Quick Links:

TWMTB: Governance Structure

TWMTB: Vision for the Future

TWMTB: The People

TWMTB: Updates

TWMTB: Te Rangihau Scholarship Successful Applicants